Taper Time

The time for taper is upon us – the Dublin Marathon is just 2 weeks away, and all the hard work is done now (hopefully!) so it’s just a case of keeping the body ticking over, and avoiding injury from now on. Over the past few weeks I’ve completed two 21 mile long runs, and a relatively fast 12 miler, so I’m happy enough with where I am. Curiously, despite having done far more mileage this year, my long run times are almost exactly the same as they were last year! With this in mind, and the fact that I’m running the Sixmilebridge double marathon 3 weeks after Dublin, I’m not expecting a particularly fast time. If I can come in 5 minutes faster than last year, with no niggles (or worse), I’ll be very happy.

I’m going to run Dublin smarter this year – last year I went out way too fast, and suffered big time in the second half – I’ll never forget the last 4 miles, as I thought I’d end up crawling across the finish line. This year I’ll try to run the first 5 miles at a nice slow pace, the next 10 a little quicker, and hopefully be able to do the remaining 12.2 at a steady pace, without too much suffering. Great in theory, but I’ll see how it goes – the best laid plans of mice and marathon runners…..

I’m still suffering a bit with tight calves and achilles – it seems to be a result of having changed my running form slightly over the past 6 months or so. I have adopted a slightly flatter, more mid-sole landing, which feels more economical, but probably puts more strain on my lower legs. Hopefully the tried and trusted distance runners cure of ice, rest, and ignoring it will make it go away.

Thanks for reading, feel free to share, and while you’re here, check out the RigBag crowdfunding page!

Leave a Reply

