Determination

My running club – Born To Run – presented some light-hearted awards at the end of the year to “honor” certain members of the club for their outstanding achievements, or just their outstanding character traits! I was delighted to receive the “Mr. Determination 2014” Award. While these may be just a bit of fun, the award actually means a lot to me – it goes to the very heart of how I see myself, and how and why I run. The fact that I will keep going, long after keeping going has ceased to be the sensible thing to do, has long been part of my personality, in every aspect of my life. In the words of Winston Churchill “If you are going through hell, keep going”.

Mention was made of the last 5K of the Tralee International 100K Ultra I ran in August 2014, when I had to pull out all the stops to beat the cutoff time, as going down in Born To Run folklore, and that is something I am very proud of – it would mean a lot to me if it could inspire other runners.

Thanks to my Born To Run buddies, knowing you all, and running with you, has been, and continues to be, a fun, entertaining, educational, sometimes painful, but always enriching experience, and has changed my life. I look forward to sharing many more running adventures with you.

Screen Shot 2015-01-11 at 14.22.412015-01-11 10.20.21

Leave a Reply

