Looking Ahead to a Great Summer of Running

For the past two weeks or so, I’ve been easing back into the training groove, with a few easy 5 milers. I took a few days off mid-week due to work and family commitments, but got up bright and early this morning to do a 5k. I was expecting to do a fast one, but it turned out to be my slowest training run in a while – my legs didn’t want to know anything about running, and I felt slow and lacking energy – possibly something to do with a head cold and sore throat I have at the moment perhaps.

I’ll have to get over it quickly – I’m starting back into ultra training early next week, and the mileage will build quickly – along with the fact that I have a marathon on the 18th, and several other races coming up in the early summer.

I am definitely doing the Tralee 100k again this year, and, depending on how training goes, I am also hoping to have a crack at the monster that is the Kerry Way Ultra. There is a 24 hour / 100 mile race planned in Offaly in late September, and I’d love to have a go at that too. Then there’s the Tralee 39.3 miler, the MCI Tralee, Cork, and Charleville marathons, the Valentia Island Half, the Camp 10 miler, the Kerryhead Half, the Ring Of Kerry Cycle……so many races, so little time.

My running calendar is filling up nicely – along with the three marathons I’ve already run this year, I’ve already committed to 5 more marathons, two ultras, two half marathons, three 10ks, and a 10 miler. I’m hoping to add a couple of more marathons, and one or two more ultras to that – should be a great summer of running – hope yours is looking good too.

Now if I can only stay uninjured!

Screen Shot 2015-04-03 at 14.40.10

Leave a Reply

