Running in the rain, just running in the rain…..

This has been a pretty good training week for me, I’ve run every day, and no ill effects. I went out this morning with some of the hardcore Born To Run gang to do an ultra pace half marathon. Sitting in the car before the run, I was questioning our sanity – it looked like the End of Days, with pouring rain and high winds. I would probably have drove home again, except that the rest of the gang had arrived half an hour early to suit me, and probably (like, definitely) wouldn’t appreciate me deciding not to do it!

Nothing for it, but grit the teeth and get going. The first mile or so was hard – there’s little worse than that initial shock of being soaked through by freezing Irish rain – and it was made harder by the fact that I hadn’t dressed for the conditions – shorts and a thin running top aren’t ideal for these conditions.

We kept going though, and, once you are good and soaked through, at least you can’t get any wetter!

The banter was great as usual, and, no matter how awful the conditions, we know how to have a good time! At the halfway turnaround, I realised that time was against me, and this, coupled with the fact that the slow ultra pace was causing me to get seriously cold, made me decide to step up the pace for the second half. One of the other runners joined me, and we set off at a fairly good pace, and kept it going all the way back – it certainly thawed me out, and I finally started to feel my hands.

Overall another good run, and I’m happy with where I am leading up to next weeks Listowel Marathon.

running in the rain

The view this morning from my car window. The reason you can't see anything is because the entire world is obscured by horrible driving rain. Nice.
The view this morning from my car window. The reason you can’t see anything is because the entire world is obscured by horrible driving rain. Nice.
2 thoughts on “Running in the rain, just running in the rain…..

Leave a Reply

