Sometimes you have to do the smart thing….

I’ve decided not to run in Courtmacsherry next week, despite really enjoying it last year. Although my hamstring problem seems to be slowly improving, I don’t want to risk it on a race – of course it would be a training run in reality, but I know myself well enough to know that I would not hold back in a race situation, no matter how much I wanted to, and the key thing for me is to be fit for the 100k in 12 days time. It is simply not worth the risk. I’ve been keeping my training mileage to a minimum since the 40 miler last week, and doing lots of swimming to keep the fitness up. I will run a bit more over the next 7 or 8 days, but will concentrate on just keeping myself in one piece – I’m not going to get any fitter between now and August 1st!

Roll on the 100k!

Leave a Reply

