My Running Anniversary!

Today is the third anniversary of my very first race! (thanks for the reminder Facebook!) On November 10th 2012, I ran the Feet First Killarney 5k, having completed the first couple of months training for my first marathon, which would be the inaugural Tralee Marathon the following March.

I made all the classic rookie mistakes – started at the front, sprinted the first kilometre, nearly died in the next kilometre, had to walk for a while, and managed to get it together for a big finish.

Little did I know then what an amazing journey running would bring me on. Three years and forty six races later, and running is a huge part of my life. Long may it continue. If you are reading this and just starting on your running journey, or even just contemplating getting into running, go for it – you will not regret it.

Just about to cross the line in my first race - ah, the innocence!
Just about to cross the line in my first race – ah, the innocence!
4 thoughts on “My Running Anniversary!

  1. 50in50marathonquest

    I have a similar story, not quite so many races but from struggling through a mile to my first marathon a year later to 5 marathons and twenty something halfs in just under 4 years…great post! Cheers!

    Like

Leave a Reply

