A Non Runner

On Saturday last I was supposed to run the MCI Tralee Marathon, a race I had been looking forward to. Unfortunately, I had to make the decision, late on Friday night, not to run. I still had fairly bad muscle cramps from the previous weekend’s 30 miler in Sixmilebridge, and I hadn’t felt well most of the day on Friday. In fact, I hadn’t felt the best most of the week, which hopefully is just the result of fatigue and a headcold. I’m all for pushing myself, but I felt that I just wouldn’t have been able to give it any effort at all, and I would have risked making myself unwell.

Well done to Race Director Martin, who I heard did a fantastic job, and to all my Born To Run, MCI, and Crusader friends who ran it.

I plan to run as a pacer in next weekend’s Parkrun, which will hopefully help me get my mojo back. After that, we’ll see – Clonakilty is coming up, and I’d love to do it.

lee and me at parkrun
Trying to stay warm after watching Lee in last week’s Parkrun
2 thoughts on “A Non Runner

Leave a Reply

