Tralee Marathon #4

The fourth running of the Tralee International Marathon is coming up this Saturday. The first year of this was my first marathon, and I’ve done it every year since, so I am really looking forward to it. It is, of course, also my hometown marathon, which makes it that extra little bit special. I am not expecting a particularly good performance this year, as work and family commitments (and some laziness on my part) means that I am waaaaaay behind where I should be with my training. I have done no real long runs, and little in the way of short runs. For a normal person this might be daunting, but I am confident that brute force and ignorance will get me through unscathed. It’s only a marathon after all…..

 

tralee 800 medalThe finishers medal (on left) is really nice, and celebrates the 800th Centenary of Tralee. As a proud Tralee man, I HAVE to get one of these medals – our town will only have one 800th birthday, and I can see these medals being family heirlooms. If I have to crawl on my hands and knees, I will earn a finishers medal this year! Luckily my wife is doing the half this year, so we will have a medal for each of our boys.

The marathon has reverted to the original 2013 route, so there will be a sense of deja vu this year. The infamous Barrow Hill, breaker of many a spirit, will be back, as will the tough Fenit Pier turnaround. I have to say I’m really looking forward to it – if it was easy, why would you bother?

Entries for the 2016 Tralee International Marathon close tomorrow (Wednesday), and if you are in the area, I say go for it! If running it is not your thing, why not volunteer? You can contact Jim, the volunteer coordinator on the RTK Volunteer Facebook page.

See you there!

Tralee-800-Logo

 

3 thoughts on “Tralee Marathon #4

Leave a Reply

