Guest Post: SlowRunnerGirl Blogoversary

I’d like to introduce you all to SlowRunnerGirl, who writes a very entertaining blog. I’ve invited her to share her story here on RandRuns – Happy Blogoversary SlowRunnerGirl!

blogpic1

When Randall asked me to write a guest post, I felt honored. I’ve read his blog posts, race reports and info about ultra running a lot and he keeps providing helpful tips to newer runners like myself.

I thought “Yes. How cool is that?!”. Then I realized, I have no clue what to say. What interesting thing could I possibly write about, his readers didn’t already know? I know I can sit down, after a run and just blah on and on and obsess about running on my blog … writing for someone else’s blog is different though! As I sat down and thought about it, it reminded me of writing my first blog post. I realized I had felt the same way – not knowing what I to write. Then it looked at me. The date of the first post. It was one year ago … and an idea came to my mind. How cool would it be to write a post on my first year of run-blogging and then celebrate my blogoversary with everybody here – right on Randall’s blog! I mean that’s what you do if you plan a wild party right? Go to someone else, have everybody bring their own booze links and make a mess out of the place, by sharing the dirtiest craziest running stories!

So let me get this party started with my story, which goes something like this:

Once upon a time there was a fat, unfit, lazy girl with a dream. The dream to become a runner one day …

… this girl was me.

I’ve had the dream to become a runner for a long time. I tried many times to make it real. I never succeeded. Until I decided it was time last year – time to become a runner.

The Beginning

In the beginning, I was out there, all alone, following a sad Android computer voice telling me “run for 2 minutes” and “walk for 3” … I couldn’t do it. I tried and I tried again. I persisted and kept reading more and more blogs of runners that had been at the same spot than I was at.

For months I kept on going, forcing myself out the door and putting one step in front of the other. Music was my life-line. I created playlists to match my walk/run intervals, where I knew how long a song will take and I knew exactly when I could finally walk again. It was so hard!

I ran in the very early mornings. At a time where nobody cares what you are doing out there. Hoping no one would see my red face and me carrying my wobbly bits around. I did everything to avoid meeting people out walking. Most of them I couldn’t pass due to my slowness. I was embarrassed having to walk after just 3 minutes …

At some point I started to take photos and notice the beautiful world around me more and more. I added them to my running app and started to look back at them, when I didn’t feel like going out for a run. I looked at my improving stats and I decided I want to start recording my journey.

blogpic2

The Start of my Blog

When I wrote my first blog post on the 7th August 2015, I was running 3 times per week, trying to achieve the feast of running for one full hour! … and I was still oh so slow! Everybody else in the blogosphere and all the running books, was so much faster. Surely something was wrong with me.

There came a point when I decided I didn’t care. I had come to enjoy the early morning sunrise and being out at the beach. I got used to feeling good and having more energy that usual. I kept it up and I started to post my photos and write about my runs. It was a relief! Finally a place where I could obsess about my running and health, without annoying everyone around me!

Through blogging, I got to think about my runs. Through running I began to think about the food I was eating. I had started to log what I ate from the start and began to notice a pattern emerge. I slowly began replacing foods I didn’t fancy anymore and my thinking switched from ‘food’ to ‘fuel’. When I decided to eat only what I fancied, I started to love cooking again. I am plant-based ever since.

I also kept writing about my experiences. When I hit a rough patch, I came back to my blog and looked at all the photos of beautiful moments captured on my runs. I had started walking for 20 minutes, 3 times per day in late April 2015 – I couldn’t run I was so unfit. Seeing my progress on my blog, gave me a huge boost and I kept it up – the running and the writing. When something was wrong, I figured it out and documented it. Resting heart rate to high? I learned about over reaching and over training. I slowed down more … I learned to include recovery weeks. I learned to embrace slow. I learned to love running.

blogpic3

Through having my blog and sharing stats like above, I started to connect with others. Before I had my blog, I’d just be lurking and reading, now I was getting more passionate and much more opinionated! I was curious and dared to ask more experienced runners questions. And guess what? They replied and I’ve learned so much from everyone I couldn’t be more thankful! In the beginning, I thought I better hide and let no one know about my crazy plan of slowness – to run only at or below my aerobic heart rate – but it turns out, going slow, is the best thing ever! By now, I not only know it’s working for me, after months of slogging I see my paces improve and I am still running injury free. My blog also helped me to connect with others on a similar path or with similar experiences. Without everyone’s encouragement and motivating words, I doubt I would have persisted.

 

The Changes

Now I run 6 times per week, my long run is 2 hours. I learned to love running and I am plotting future running adventures. I don’t fit in any of my old clothes and still need some time to adjust to my new self. When I bought my first pair of new jeans, I had to try 3 different sizes and couldn’t believe I would fit into the one that I finally got … I also have much more energy than ever before!

Here is some data showing my change from fat, lazy, unfit girl with a dream, to SlowRunnerGirl:

  April 2015 August 2016
Resting Heart Rate 74 50
Weight kg 88.3 69
BMI 28.8 22.5
Fat % 34.4 27.5
Muscle % 32.2 34.1

 

I still have a long way to go – as I plan to become quite old I might add – I am sure however, that with the support and encouragement as well as unbelievably helpful tips and advice from everyone here, I will figure it out.

… and with this my beginner run blogger story ends and I’m hopeful to run and blog slowly and happily ever after …

blogpic4

 

Thanks guys for all your help, motivation and support!

Now let’s get this party started!

Grab a piece of blogoversary cake and get cracking and link or write up your own story!

 

19 thoughts on “Guest Post: SlowRunnerGirl Blogoversary

  1. xxx HAPPY BLOGOVERSARY SRG xxx

    I am so happy to have found your blog a few months ago. Not only have you been totally inspirational, but your are totally motivational too!

    Any silly questions or lack of knowledge that i have shown, has been met with the loveliest most gracious feedback.

    Watching you grow in confidence as a runner and an exciting blogger had been just lovely… your photos are awe inspiring and your blog content just perfect.

    Wishing you all the best for many wonderful blog years ahead… here is to blog buddies and then some xxx

    CeeJay

    *party hat on, huge slice of cake in hand* #spottedthehappyblogger 🙂

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks so much CeeJay! Happy I found your blog as well – don’t remember who spotted who first though … thanks also for creating all the lovely graphics for this blogoversary! Who knew that Benjamin would look so cool in his party hat 🙂
      Here’s to blog family and happy running!

      Liked by 1 person

  2. Your blog has been an inspiration to me SRG! Without your support I would never have stuck with the slow running/walking and it has been so much better for my health so thank you! Thank you to Randall for hosting, I’ll have a shuftie through your blog too!😊😊

    Liked by 3 people

    1. Thanks so much! You’ve been much more strict with sticking to the low heart rate 🙂 I’m pretty sure you are the inspiration here! Looking forward to another slow year (with some fast bits for fun) and I truly love your new hills.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. U r welcome! Yes I’m reading 80-20 now and the evidence about polarisation is v interesting, you have to do some fast bits if you want to get faster! I’m loving the hills too – so much that I think that I might want to stay here! It wasn’t where we were planning g to buy😊

        Liked by 1 person

  3. Happy blogoversary, thanks for the invite. I bought some cake of the pasta world, hope it’s OK.

    Will keep reading, one day I may get back to doing some serious slow running in preparation for some serious distances.

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Thanks for dropping by! Enjoy the lasagne – you’ll need it for your upcoming serious work (15 minutes sounds a lot!).
      I hope you won’t slow down for a while at least – you kind of keep the balance with all my slowness and I felt just faster only reading about your summer of fun. Can’t wait to hear about “serious” training in the future 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  4. ** party hat on | cake on one hand & drink on the other hand (only for show, I don’t really drink) **

    Congratulations and happy blogoversary!!! I’m glad I came across your blog. As I’ve mentioned before, I look forward to catching up on your latest updates. You make me jealous with your wonderful pictures too 🙂

    Randall, lovely place you have here, I’ll help clean up later 😉

    SRG, I stopped by to wish you the best in your blogoversary and in your future. I look forward to reading your future conquests!

    Liked by 2 people

    1. Hi Will,

      there you are! Glad you could make it – hope you enjoy the cake 🙂

      Thanks for your wishes and your lovely words. It’s a pleasure following your journey!

      To sharing a wonderful next year and more conquests!

      Liked by 1 person

  5. Pingback: Work Hard - Play Slow - SlowRunnerGirl

Leave a Reply

