Tralee parkrun July 2nd

This morning I continued my recovery from the last couple of weeks madness by taking part in another Tralee parkrun.

I travelled to Tralee Town Park with Catherine and Lee in very heavy rain showers, but as soon as we got there, the skies cleared, and it turned into a sunny, if breezy morning.

We met lots of our club mates there, including husband and wife team Brian and Lorna White, and my frequent running partner Brian O’Sè.

parkrun july 2
Brian, myself, Lee, Tracy, and Catherine getting in a pre-run stretch (pic Tralee parkrun)

After instructions and introductions from race director Mary, we set off.

Myself and Brian fell into step, and took it at a fairly leisurely pace – this was down to me, as I definitely didn’t have a pep in my step, and I still have some recovery to do.

parkrun july
Getting there (pic Tralee parkrun)

Lee took off fairly quickly, with Catherine not far behind.
The first couple of laps were fairly uneventful, other than one rain shower, but I certainly felt every lap. I think I’ll need a bit of TLC on my legs before next weekends marathon.

As we approached the final lap, we briefly caught up to Catherine, but, when she kicked off  a third of the way through the final lap, I had to let her go, as there was no way I was keeping up. Brian stuck with me, and I struggled in to cross the line in 29:29.

Catherine was a little before us on 28:57, but Lee had a bit of a mishap – he ran a storming last lap, including a sub 5 minute kilometre and passed the line in a new PB – however he literally passed the line, and headed off on an extra lap before realising his mistake! He turned after a few hundred meters, and came back to finish in a very respectable official time of 26:51, though he is very annoyed he missed out on a PB – I think he’ll blast his PB to bits the next time!

parkrun july 1
Crossing the line (pic Tralee parkrun)

We went for Coffee with Lorna and the two Brians afterwards, before heading home.

Well done to all the volunteers who make the parkrun possible, I look forward to the next one.

One thought on “Tralee parkrun July 2nd

  1. Pingback: Tralee parkrun July 9th – RandRuns

Leave a comment