Another Long Run in the bag.

Well I survived my 6 hour training run on Sunday, the day after the Camp 10 Mile Trail Run. Myself and JJ started the run at the ungodly hour of 4:30am, as family commitments meant I needed to be finished by 11am.

I found the run fairly tough – although we did it at a leisurely pace, and stopped every 4 miles to refuel, I could feel the tiredness from the previous day in my legs, and chose to walk the two hills on the 4 mile looped course. By the last loop, I was pretty well done in, and was very happy to finish, having had to break into a walk a few times in the last few miles. Hopefully the back-to-back runs will stand to me in terms of improving muscle-fatigue resistance during the ultra. We shall have to wait and see.
One thing I was very happy with is the fact that I was able to eat during the run with no problems – this caused me a lot of grief last year, and I am keen to get it right this time around.

The early start was worth it, as I got to see my eldest son’s team, Ballymac, win the GAA Kerry County U12 League Division 1B – well done boys!

Taking it easy this week as I have the Ring of Kerry Cycle at the weekend, and that will probably test me!

Don’t forget to nominate this blog for the Irish Blog Awards if you get a chance!

One thought on “Another Long Run in the bag.

  1. Pingback: Born To Run 40 Mile Ultra Marathon Race Report | Randall's Running Blog

Leave a comment